I ride an old paint, I lead an old dam
I’m going to Montana to throw a hoolihan
They feed in the coulees, they water in the draw
Their tails are all matted, their backs are all raw

Ride around, ride around real slow
They’re fiery and they’re snuffy, and rarin’ to go

Old Bill Brown had a daughter and a son
One went to Denver and the other went wrong
His wife, she died in a poolroom fight
But still he keeps singing from morning ’til night

Ride around, ride around real slow
They’re fiery and they’re snuffy, and rarin’ to go

Now, when I die, take my saddle from the wall
Put it on my pony, and lead him from his stall
Tie my bones to his back, turn our faces to the west
And we’ll ride the prairie that we like the best

Ride around, ride around real slow
They’re fiery and they’re snuffy, and rarin’ to go



Notes by Andrew Guild:
This is an old American folk song. I heard it many years ago and thought it had a nice rhythm.
There are several versions, with small differences, which can be found on the internet.
Linda Ronstadt sung a version of it on her “Simple Dreams” album (1977).



Linda Ronstadt


Woody Guthrie


Michael Martin Murphey


